Home

“AMARI & THE NIGHT BROTHERS” By B.B. Alston

Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good.

So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she’s certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton—if only she can wrap her head around the idea of magicians, fairies, aliens, and other supernatural creatures all being real.

Now she must compete for a spot against kids who’ve known about magic their whole lives. No matter how hard she tries, Amari can’t seem to escape their intense doubt and scrutiny—especially once her supernaturally enhanced talent is deemed “illegal.” With an evil magician threatening the supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she’s an enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn’t stick it out and pass the tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton.

I AM IN AWE. I LOVE IT!

B.B. Alston has created a masterpiece! “Artemis Fowl” meets “Men in Black”, perfect for fans of “Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky”, and “Percy Jackson”. [And the best part is that IT’S THE FIRST IN A TRILOGY!!!]

Amari is a strong, brave, kind main character with AWESOME hair, I wish this book had been around when I was younger. One thing I try to think about when I recommend a book to a young reader is: Will the reader be able to empathize with the main character? Will the reader be able to read about that character and think “Hey! They’re like me! I bet I can be as brave/kind as them! I bet that if I work hard/follow my dreams/never give up, like they did, I could be like them!”

When I was younger, I never really found a book that made me feel that way, all the books I read seemed to be about white children with golden hair written by White authors. And, as Black girl with [Awesome] Afro hair and darkish skin, I could never really empathize with the character. [Also, did you know how hard it is for me to find a book with a Black main character in a fantasy world? IT’S REALLY, REALLY HARD. BTW …My favourite fantasy character is the weredragon because SHE IS SO COOL!!!!]

It wasn’t until quite recently that I started finding books by wonderful BAME/BLACK authors with characters that looked like me. B.B. Alston’s “AMARI & THE NIGHT BROTHERS” is one such amazing book.

I hope that after reading this book, young readers like me will be inspired to write their own Black fantasy books, so that, in the next generation, children will be able to read books about kids like them and be inspired to write their own books, etc. . . [I also hope one of those young writers will write about a world where Queer, Black, BAME and White people GET ALONG.]

This book is suitable for around aged 8 plus but I think EVERYONE will LOVE it!!!

2 thoughts on ““AMARI & THE NIGHT BROTHERS” By B.B. Alston

  1. Brilliant review that makes a very important point, Bookshelf Reader. Come on writers, heroes and heroines come in all shapes, sizes and colours. Let’s see more of them

    Like

  2. Brilliant review that makes a very important point, Bookshelf Reader. Come on writers, heroes and heroines come in all shapes, sizes and colours. Let’s see more of them

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s